United Soybean Board

The United Soybean Board (USB) directs the national soybean checkoff. The soybean checkoff is supported entirely by soybean growers who must contribute 0.5% of the market price of each bushel of soybeans sold.

The USB is made up of 73 volunteer farmer-leaders who are nominated by their state-level checkoff organizations, the Qualified State Soybean Boards (QSSBs), which includes the Indiana Soybean Alliance. Nominees to the board are appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture.

The national soybean checkoff was established in the early 1990’s to facilitate soy market development through research and commercialization programs.

United Soybean Board Directors from Indiana

Tom Griffiths, Kendallville
Dave Lowe, Dunkirk
Mark Seib, Poseyville
Kevin Wilson, Walton